Midwest Cowboy Caviar

So I’ve been determined to add some new recipes into our meal rotations lately.  One of the things I’ve seen a few times in the blogsphere is a Meatless Monday trend. We almost always have recipes that include a meat of some kind, so I liked this idea as a way to force me to try some new recipes. A friend recently posted a picture of her lunch with something that looked like the Texas Cavier I’ve had at parties, and I started craving a hearty salsa-type dip.  I looked around for a bit at some recipes, but wasn’t sure I’d find the black-eyed peas they all called for. I always have pinto and black beans in the pantry, though, so I settled on this recipe.

Midwest Cowboy Cavier with avocado and chips

 

In total transparency, Jeremy actually made this for dinner while Lo and I were at swim lessons.  We left out the chilis and corn (oops, forgot to buy some) and added a bunch of extra garlic.  The results were good, but too sweet for our tastes (probably because we didn’t have the extra peppers to balance it out.)  A few more additions and revisions, and my leftovers today were absolutely delicious.  Below is my best guess at the final recipe (and how we’ll likely make it next time.)  Note- this makes a ton of food.  I bet it was closet to 10 cups of dip.  Halving the recipe is probably a good idea unless you’re making it for a party!

MIDWEST COWBOY CAVIAR

Ingredients

2 cans (15 oz) black beans, rinsed and drained

2 cans (15 oz) pinto beans, rinsed and drained

2 bell peppers (any color), chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

1 pint grape tomatoes, chopped

1 bunch cilantro leaves, finely chopped

1/4 C olive oil

2-3 TBL minced garlic

1/3 C lime juice

1 TBL garlic salt

1 tsp ground black pepper

 

Directions

1. Mix together beans, peppers, onion, tomatoes, cilantro and minced garlic.

2. In separate small bowl, mix together EVOO, lime juice, garlic salt, and pepper.  Pour over bean mix and stir well, evenly coating everything.

3. Can be eaten immediately, but tastes better if it sits for a few hours (or overnight) to blend flavors.  Serve with avocado and/or tortilla chips.

Leave a Reply

