2014.

Goals for this year.  I don’t like the word “resolution” because it just has all sorts of expectations and connotations (like, doomed to fail.)  So a few goals I have for this upcoming year.

*Blog more.  Looking back on 2013, I’m sad I don’t have more documented about Lo’s first year with us.  Thankfully, I still have a ridiculous number of photographic memories (including on Instagram) but there were so many fun stories I should’ve written down.  This is a balance for me, though, because I don’t want to be that mom that says “wait! I need to record this!” instead of just living in the moment.  I don’t want this blog to be a chore. But I do want to jot down the awesome/hilarious/weird stuff my kid does.  I’m going to try and embrace the short posts too.

*Be more financially comfortable.  So, we’ve got a few things going on right now. We moved, currently renting a duplex (thankfully, rent is very affordable in Central WI), both Jeremy and I started new jobs, Lo’s at my mom’s daycare for now, commuting 75 miles roundtrip every day, and oh. still own a house in MN. (yeah. about that. the last sale fell through. new offers on the table, but there’s still drama. more on that later.)  So. I want to use this sort of restart to really lock down on our spending and saving.  For a few weeks, we were going on one income, which forced us to be very careful with money.  Now that Jeremy has a fulltime job here, too, we’ve been more lax.  But looking back on how not uncomfortable it was to restrict the budget, I think we can really do that now.  I’d love to have all our debts paid off within a few years, including student loans.  It’s a hefty goal, but one I think we can manage.

*Sell house. Buy new one.  This will probably be the hardest to accomplish, since it’s kind of out of our control.  We have had quite a bit of interest, and we have a few offers on the table as of today.  The one we originally pursued is now in limbo because the buyer’s wife is in the hospital.  We’ll see what happens in a day, otherwise move onto the next one.  Once the house closes, we’ll look at buying a new one here where we work. It’ll be fantastic to cut out the 45 minute commute each way and we’ve found some houses here that are really nice, with good yards and room to grow.

*Stay Healthy: we’ve started to really keep to the gluten-free diet, and have been buying lots of fresh, whole foods. We’ve mostly stuck to a meal plan for the last few weeks, and I think we all feel so much better for it.  I started looking for a new CSA today, too, and I’m quite excited to have local fresh produce again.  We also recently joined the YMCA in hopes of starting swim lessons for the kid, and I plan on checking out some group classes they have too.

*Explore more:  now that we no longer live in the Twin Cities, I think we missed out on some of the awesome stuff they had to offer.  I want to make sure we find all the awesome little stuff in Wisconsin.  I’d love to plan short day trips once it’s nice out again. It’s a little hard to get away in the summer, thanks to my job schedule, but I’m already starting a list of the stuff I want to do around the area.  Bonus points for free activities 🙂 Thankfully there are lots of county parks and outdoorsy places here.

Leave a Reply

